Niagara Historical Society Museumbanner

100 Years – 100 Artefacts

June 2007 - April 2008

On June 4th, 1907, Memorial Hall opened its doors for the first time.  Under the determined leadership of Janet Carnochan, the museum became a showcase for the unique history of Niagara-on-the-Lake.  At the time, Niagara-on-the-Lake was a tourist community and the museum faced Camp Niagara, a large military training facility and a tourist attraction in its own right.  The collection is now one of the most significant collections in Ontario.  Memorial Hall contains many one-of-a-kind artefacts relating to Niagara’s domestic and military place in the country’s past.
A museum collection can represent many things to many people.  This exhibition and corresponding publication was a testament to that.  There might never be agreement on what 100 artefacts are most important to this or any other collection.  However, 100 people did choose their favourite artefact.  That is what this exhibition was all about.  What does an artefact say to you?  Why is it significant?  What story does it tell?  What stories are missing?  Within the walls of the Museum are over 40,000 such stories.  These represented a mere fraction of them.

The catalogue of this exhibition is available by contacting the Museum. Many of the artefacts can also be viewed on our Photo Gallery.

Years - 100 Artefacts

 

® Image: View of Fort George, Oil on canvass, C. Kreighoff 1823