Established in 1895, the Niagara Historical Society is dedicated to understanding the history of Niagara-on-the-Lake. The most important aspect of the work of the Society is the maintenance of the Museum collection which began in 1896 and is one of Ontario's most important collections. Plan a visit to the Niagara Historical Society Museum to discover the unique stories of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Located 20km north of Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake provided a new home for refugees, was the capital of Upper Canada, was in the middle of a war zone and visited by millions as a place of recreation for over 100 years; these stories play a major role in the development of Canada.
Through the Voices of Beads
An exhibition of Iroquois beadwork from the Royal Ontario Museum and local Niagara artist Samuel Thomas.
Courtesy of the
Thank you to the anonymous donor who sponsored this travelling exhibition.
As visitors enter the Museum they will explore 9,000 years of history in first gallery of the Museum.
Enjoy a new audio/visual component to our permannet exhibition!
Generously funded by David Murray & Elizabeth Surtees, this project features 9 short videos about various aspects of Niagara-on-the-Lake's History
Visitors can check out a handheld tablet at the front desk and scan QR codes throughout the galleries to reveal the videos.
Produced by Barbara Worthy and 12th Street Productions with app development by Creative Bytes Studios.
Summer Student Positions
We are now taking applications for our summer student positions. Please click below for more information.
May 5 |FIRST FRIDAYS: “A ROYAL AFFAIR” (7-10 pm)
Part of a series of events at 8 different historic sites throughout the Niagara Region. Join us for live music, fun activities, food and drink. This year’s theme is British Royalty. Admission is $10 in advance, $12 at the door. Generously sponsored by the Niagara Community Foundation. For details on the series visit www.firstfridaysniagara.ca.
On the third Sunday of each month we are offering a free community day in appreciation of increased funding from the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Admission is free to the galleries and the popular Famous & Infamous biography series will also be free and open to all. 2017 dates are:
Memorial Hall's Portico was Restored!
In 2016, Memorial Hall's portico was restored to its original construction. This structure was in desperate need of repair work as well since the wood was rotten.
Thank you for funding this project:
In the news
- Tea party on verge of war
- 3D technology to create Secord bust replicas
- Bicentennial Videos
- NEW! Niagara-on-the-Lake's Bicentennial of the War of 1812 Magazine
- Feds Launch War of 1812 Anniversary Plans!
- Forget the ice cream and chocolates; Laura Secord - our first spy!
- War of 1812 Lecture Series at the Niagara on the Lake Historical Museum
- New Director for Museum
- War of 1812 projects get a funding boost